Week 2: Task 9 (Tweeter Event)

http://edchat.pbworks.com/

I tried to attend the 7pm EST event, but had not yet been accepted to the blog.  To others in ED526b, if you want to attend one of these events, try to join the group a few days before.  I tried to join a few hours before this event, but had not yet gotten my email confirmation.  Luckily (?) they archive the events so I went through the 12 noon meeting.

As for the noon event, it was a mind boggling amount of information to try and keep up with.  Also, about 50% of it were the following three tweets:

1.  Our topic today is Is 2 much emphasis placed on low and high achieving students? Are we neglecting students in the middle? #edchat
2.  For the next hour my tweets will be devoted to #edchat!
3.  I’m searching for #edchat live on TweetGrid Search – http://tweetgrid.com/search?q=%23edchat

After sifting through those, the following tweets pretty much summed things up:

1.  It’s easy to forget that when we teach to a particular niche that usually those techniques are good for ALL learners.
2.  The question should be “am I giving each student what they need?” Sure low students will require more time, because they need more #edchat
3.  We cannot overlook any of the students that we teach. DI should be employed
4.  In the UK ‘hidden children’ have been identified as tose ‘in the middle’ who are often overlooked as they pose no ‘problems’ 4 tchrs

I still think on “contraversial” topics like this, people like to take one side or the other when in reality the answer is that you have to do both.  Do we need to teach exercises OR problem solving?  Wrong question.  Do we need to teach exercises AND problem solving?  Yes.

As for this technology, I have to investigate more.  Although I was not joined, I went back and I think found the 7pm meeting in progress.  I couldn’t post, but I could watch.  Let me say this to be effective:  you need to be a speed reader that can multitask!  There are so many comments that they quickly scroll past and many people respond with web links (so you need to have other windows open that you are paying attention to.

Excuse me now, I need to go take an aspirin.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2: Task 9 (Tweeter Event)

  1. bobbo1 says:

    Al,
    I think you are on target with your evaluation of this assignment. Last night I tried two different events with no success. I finally decided to read over the transcript of one of the ed-chats and blog about that. Lots of comments, some good, some confusing, some thought provoking. Pass the tylenol.

  2. Doug S. says:

    Bob Stock and I both had similar issues with attempting to attend some of the online events, so we “attended” the archive of this Twitter event together. We felt it was appropriate to jump on Al’s bandwagon and post our comment here.

    I would agree that there is a need for “both exercises and problems” rather than “either exercises or problems”. Many times we try to argue for the “either – or” rather than the “both – and” in education. The challenge is finding an appropriate balance within our classrooms.

    I have found that if I am teaching the same subject to multiple classes, my “cookie cutter” lesson plan would make it easy for me to teach the same material to each class each day. This approach makes my life easy as a teacher, but it does not always serve my students well. I tend to be tied to “my” plans, but I have found that I have to be ready and willing to be flexible on a daily basis in my classes. Even if I am teaching two Honors Algebra 2 classes, I have to treat period 4 different than period 8 based on the students in these classes. And I have to treat my 6 gifted students in period 4 differently than the other 28 non-gifted students in period 4. This means differentiating instruction within a class to challenge my gifted students. It also may mean “slowing down” my instruction during period 8 because students have legitimate questions about how to do yesterday’s homework. Whew … I’m getting exhausted just thinking back through these scenarios!

    I will chime in with Al that working with the technology in the class has been a challenge. I have a technology background – a Mathematics / Computer Science degree, so I am able to navigate through most of it. But there certainly is a lot of “ramp up” time with seemingly little payback, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

