Wikipedia: Did I Just Edit That?

I am a big user of wikipedia.  It is a useful source of information and I like the “everybody owns it” concept.  However, until today, I had never edited or added a page.  Today, I added a paragraph to the motivation section of this wiki page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiple_representations_(mathematics_education)

I’m not sure why, but it gave me goosebumps.  Its almost like I feel I helped an old lady across the street.  I know its significance is small, but I feel that I shared a small piece of me with the WORLD today.  I’m not sure we are a step closer to world peace, but give me a few more edits and who knows??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wikipedia: Did I Just Edit That?

  1. Doug S. says:

    Al –

    I agree with you … wikipedia is pretty cool! The most interesting thing to me is that it is “self-policing”. Ie, there is no “Big Brother” feeling where you make edits, submit them to be reviewed by some “Big Brother” type, and wait to see if you passed the unnamed standard of the reviewer. And, for the most part, it does not seem like anyone within the Wikipedia community abuses this freedom. Simply amazing!

    Doug

  2. ktgee24 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post. It is a neat feeling to know that people can google a topic, and now find things we wrote. I’d say that’s a much larger accomplishment than someone finding an update you posted on facebook or something. A little more meaningful I think….

  3. teachy79 says:

    yeah I agree. It was really neat to put some of your comments, ideas, feelings out there and know that anyone in the world can read it. It is cool that it is “self-policing” like Doug said and that no one seems to be abusing it. It’s really cool to know you can start some topic and put it out there for people to read, add to, edit to make it better and more comprehensive.

Leave a Reply

